Is Krill Oil Kosher?
There is a wealth of information and studies available on the amazing benefits of health supplements. However, it can be quite a headache for individuals who are living a kosher lifestyle to find supplements that they can be sure are indeed kosher. The fact that many health supplements contain animal products and extracts makes purchasing them a bit of a minefield for those adhering to kosher practices.
The Benefits Of Omega-3 Supplements
One of the most highly regarded and well-studied supplements are omega-3 oils. If you are at all concerned with your health and have looked into health supplementation, you have probably already come across omega-3 supplements like krill and fish oil capsules.
Omega-3 fatty acids have a whole host of different benefits for your body and, unlike many supplements, have a large number of studies to back them up. Improved heart health, reduced inflammation, healthier joints and improved insulin sensitivity are just a few of the advantages to be gained from increasing your omega-3 intake.
Why Krill Oil?
Omega-3 supplements come in various different types, some of which boast better absorption and purity rates than others. Krill oil capsules are one of the top omega-3 sources around and have become a very popular in recent years due to the high absorption rate of the krill oil.
Krill oil isn’t just an omega-3 supplement, it also contains a very powerful antioxidant called Astaxanthin, which has even further health-boosting and anti-ageing properties.
Where Does Krill Oil Come From And Is It Kosher?
Krill are tiny shrimp-like crustaceans that are found in the Southern Ocean.
Unfortunately, krill do not have any scales or fins so, since krill oil is made out of extracts from these crustaceans, it is not kosher.
Non-kosher foods may only be eaten if they would help survival in a life or death situation, which is unlikely for krill oil. They can also be consumed by a sick individual if extracted and turned into a non-food form like a flavourless tablet. However, krill oil is sold in the pure capsule form of the oil so would not be permittable.
All in all, krill oil is not kosher and an alternative source of omega-3s or antioxidants should be sought by individuals who abide by a kosher lifestyle.
Kosher Alternatives To Krill Oil
Just because krill oil is not kosher, it doesn’t mean you need to miss out on the health benefits of omega-3 and antioxidant supplementation. There are some excellent kosher sources available so you can still reap the health rewards for yourself.
Cod Liver Oil – A Rich Source of Omega-3 Fatty Acid
Another extremely popular omega-3 source is fish oil supplements. To be considered Kosher, a fish must have scales and fins that can be removed without causing harm to the fish.
Cod, as long as it isn’t freshwater cod, can be a kosher source of omega-3 fatty acids. Cod liver oil supplementation has been common for many years. Cod liver oil supplements contain large amounts of omega-3 fatty acids, and can be purchased in 1,000 mg capsules from our online store.
Green Tea Extract – A Powerful Antioxidant
To substitute the antioxidant properties of krill oil, plant and herb based alternatives such as green tea extracts are available. Green tea extract is a very potent antioxidant that can improve your skin and strengthen your immune system. On top of that, it is a very affordable supplement. You can purchase a high-quality green tea extract on our online store by clicking here.
Sourcing Kosher Food Supplements
In summary, there are supplements available that adhere to kosher regulations but it does take a bit of research to find them. A number of resources are available online for you to check whether or not an ingredient is kosher. It is recommended that you check with your Rabbi and do as much reading as possible if you are unsure about a particular supplement.